PBS and NPR for Southwest Florida
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Florida gubernatorial race sees DeSantis best Crist; other statewide contests

Election 2022 Florida Governor Debate
Rebecca Blackwell/AP
Florida's Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis, left, shakes hands with his Democratic opponent Charlie Crist at the start of their televised debate, at Sunrise Theatre in Fort Pierce, Fla., Monday, Oct. 24, 2022.(AP Photo/Rebecca Blackwell)

Updated Tuesday, November 8, 8:30 p.m.

The Associated Press has called the race for Florida Governor for Republican Ron DeSantis. With 73% of votes counted DeSantis has 57.2% of votes, and Democrat Charlie Crist has 42.2% of votes.

The Associated Press has called the race for Florida Senate for Republican Marco Rubio. With 78% of votes counted Rubio has 56.3% of votes, and Democrat Val Demings has 42.6% of votes.

Among the most watched statewide races in Florida’s Nov. 8 general election are contests for governor and U.S. senate.

The gubernatorial race to see if former governor/ former U.S. Rep. Charlie Crist could overcome the hefty lead of Republican incumbent Governor Ron DeSantis is likely the preeminent contest in the state.

Crist, a former Republican governor turned Democratic challenger, campaigned at a disadvantage for all of the election cycle and wasn't helped by an October debate that failed to move poll numbers.

The next most visible in state political circles is the contest pitting Republican U.S. Senator Marco Rubio against challenger Democrat and former Orlando Police Chief Val Demings.

Contests being decided also include:

Florida Governor:

Republican: Governor Ron DeSantis / Jeanette Nunez
Democrat: Charlie Crist / Karla Hernandez
NPA: Carmen Jackie Gimenez / Kyle Gibson
Libertarian: Hector Roos / Jerry Rorabaugh

U.S. Senate Candidates:

Republican: Marco Rubio
Democrat: Val Demings
Libertarian: Dennis Misigoy
NPA: Steven Grant
Tuan Nguyen
Write-ins: Moses Quiles
Uloma Uma Ekpete
Edward Gray
Howard Knepper

Florida Attorney General:

Republican: Ashley Moody
Democrat: Aramis Ayala

Florida Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services:

Republican: Wilton Simpson
Democrat: Naomi Esther Blemur

Chief Financial Officer:

Republican: Jimmy Patronis (incumbent)
Democrat: Adam Hattersley

Florida Supreme Court Retention Votes: (technically nonpartisan)

Charles Canady
John Couriel
Jamie Grosshans
Jorge Labarga
Ricky Polston

Second District Court of Appeal Judge Retention Vote:

Nelly Khouzam
Suzanne Labrit
Matt Lucas
Robert Morris
Stevan Travis Northcutt
John Stargel
Craig Villanti
Patricia Kelly

Once polls close at 7 p.m., tune into WGCU 90.1 FM/WMKO 91.7 FM for real-time election results throughout the night.

WGCU is your trusted source for news and information in Southwest Florida. We are a nonprofit public service, and your support is more critical than ever. Keep public media strong and donate now. Thank you.