PBS and NPR for Southwest Florida
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

SWFL state legislative contests; county commission, and other local races and issues

redjar via flickr



Florida Senate District 26 (portions of Charlotte, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Highlands, Okeechobee and Polk counties and northern end of Lee County)

Republican: Steve Byers
Democrat: Lori Berman X

Florida Senate District 27 (Majority of Lee County)
Republican: Ben Albritton X
Democrat: Christopher Proia

Florida Senate District 28 (Parts of Lee, Hendry and Collier counties)
Republican: Kathleen Passidomo (unopposed). Passidomo is poised to become the next Florida Senate President. X


Florida House District 80: (Parts of Charlotte, Lee, Glades, Collier and Hendry counties.)

Republican: Adam Botana (had Florida House District 76 seat, shifted due to redistricting0 X
Democrat: Mitchel Schlayer

Florida House District 79: (Most of North Fort Myers, Buckingham, and Lehigh Acres.)

Republican Mike Giallombardo is unopposed X

Florida House District 78: (Most of Fort Myers and south Fort Myers)

Republican: Jenna Persons-Mulicka (incumbent) X
Democrat: Howard Sapp

Florida House District 77: (Alva, Buckingham, Lehigh Acres, San Carols Par, Three Oaks, and other portions of unincorporated Lee County including the Southwest Florida International Airport)

Republican: Tiffany Esposito X
Democrat: Eric Engelhart

Florida House District 76: (Boca Grande, Pine Island, Sanibel, Fort Myers Beach, Harlem Heights, San Carlos Park, Estero, Bonita Springs)
Current District 79 representative Spencer Roach is unopposed for District 76 seat. X


Collier County:

District Two

Chris Hall, Republican X
Bebe Kanter, Democrat

District Four: No general election race as Republican Daniel Kowal won his primary and faces no other challengers. Write in candidate Bill Oppenheimer withdrew after the primary.  His candidacy closed the primary ensuring only Republican voters in this district were able to weigh in on this race.

Lee County Commission Races:

District 5 (special election for 2-year term replacing the late Frank Mann):

Mike Greenwell, Republican X
Mathew “Matt” Wood, Democrat
Angela R. Chenaille, Write-in

District 4:

Brian Hamman, Republican, incumbent X
Jim Sheets, Write-in

District 2:

Cecil Pendergrass, Republican, incumbent X
Karen Watson, Write-in

Fort Myers Mayor:

Kevin Anderson, Republican, incumbent X
David Ruffin

Fort Myers City Council:

Ward 1:

Martin Byrd Jr.
Teresa Watkins Brown (incumbent) X

Ward 3:

Chantel Rhodes
Terolyn Watson: incumbent X

Ward 5:

Fred Burson, incumbent, no opponent, declared elected X

Cape Coral (city elections are nonpartisan):


John Gunter X
Tom Shadrach

City Council Races:

District One:

Carol Rae Culliton
Bill Steinke X

District Four:

Patty L. Cummings X
Jennifer Nelson, incumbent

Cape Coral Charter Amendment on Vacancies X

What is it?  This is an amendment to the City Charter regarding filling City Council vacancies.
What does it do? In the event that a special election is required to fill a Council vacancy, if there are three or more qualified candidates, a special primary election will be required. The special primary election would need to occur 90 days after and before 120 days from the vacancy date. It also requires a special general election to be held within 45 days following certification of the special primary election results.

Cape Coral Charter Amendment City Records X

What is it?  The referendum removes the requirement of printed copies being maintained in libraries and public offices and will allow accessibility by electronic means.
What does it do? It proposes allowing the City Clerk to authenticate and maintain ordinances and resolutions in codified form, making them accessible to the public quickly once they are adopted.

More Collier County results:
All precincts reporting

All three incumbent school board members in Collier County lost their races to challengers. With all precincts reporting, the Collier County Supervisor of Elections website reports Jerry Rutherford has defeated incumbent Jory Westberry for the district one seat. Kelly Lichter has defeated incumbent Jen Mitchell for the district 3 seat, and Timothy Moshier has defeated Roy Terry for the district 5 seat. Despite being technically non-partisan, all three challengers ran far-right conservative campaigns.

Mosquito Control, Seat 2 … Sandra Lee Buxton, 74.3% X, Elizabeth Yiachos, 25.7%
Mosquito Control, Seat 3 … Ed Brandt, 65.1% X, Emily Dalto, 34.9%

Greater Naples Fire Rescue, Seat 1 (vote for 1) … Mark Cherney 40% X, David Boothby 30.2%, Charlie Cottiers, 29.8%

Greater Naples Fire Rescue, Seat 3 (vote for 1) … Brian Cross, 64.9% X, William Douglass, 35.1%

North Collier Fire Control and Rescue, Seat 2 (Vote for 1) … Jim Burke, 66.4% X, Tyler Hardt, 33.6%

Port of the Islands CID, Seat 2 (Vote for 1) … Dan Truckey, 63.2% X, Samuel Leishear, 36.8%

Port of the Islands CID, Seat 4 (Vote for 1) … Steve McNamee, 65.5% X, Teri O’Connell, 34.5%

Cedar Hammock CDD, Seat 1 (Vote for 1) … Norman James Day, 43.8%, John Martino, 56.2% X
Cedar Hammock CDD, Seat 2 (Vote for 1) … Don Eliasek, 56.2% X, Domiano Passalacqua, 43.8%
Cedar Hammock CDD, Seat 3 (Vote for 1) … Robert Berke, 60.9%V, John Metz, 39.1%
Hacienda Lakes CDD, Seat 1 (Vote for 1) …Wayne Martin, 72.5% X, Jason Tomassetti, 27.5%
Winding Cypress CDD, Seat 1 (Vote for 1) … Alex Petrovsky, 65.2% X, James Verbist, 34.8%

WGCU is your trusted source for news and information in Southwest Florida. We are a nonprofit public service, and your support is more critical than ever. Keep public media strong and donate now. Thank you.